Have you ever wondered, is seitan vegan? Well, seitan is faux meat made primarily from wheat gluten and seasonings so the base ingredients are vegan. They sell premade seitan in most major grocery stores and have it on the menus of many vegan-friendly restaurants.
Want to save this recipe?
Enter your email below and get it sent straight to your inbox. Plus, get more amazing vegan recipes that will satisfy your cravings!
Seitan at restaurants
When ordering seitan wings or other seitan-based faux meat at a restaurant, you may want to check to be sure the marinade or sauce that is served with it is also vegan.
Some Asian restaurants will have seitan on their menus as a meat substitute. Simply ordering the dish with seitan doesn't mean that it will be vegan. Many dishes, like curries or noodle dishes, will still contain fish sauce or eggs. You will want to ask your server to be sure that your meal is vegan.
Some common marinades and sauces contain honey which is not suitable for vegans, but people who follow a plant-based diet do eat honey.
📌 Be sure to follow me on Pinterest for new vegan recipes!